# **Scholarships Continued**

# **Special Projects Benefiting the Community**

Matthew Scott - the Arlene Larsen Award Laura Inks and Arts Alive! - the Ceasar Shaar Award Colleen McCarthy - the Wathen Award Lacy David - the Citrix Online Award Lynn Kirst - the MidState Bank and Trust Award

#### **Sponsors**

Woods Claeyssens Foundation Hutton Foundation, Four Seasons Biltmore Hotel The Montecito Journal 1st Place Literature Award Santa Barbara County Arts Commission Glenair, Inc., Mel Clayton Ford, KDB radio, MidState Bank & Trust, Merrill Lynch, Citrix Online, Eliane Alexandre Salon & Spa, El Encanto Hotel, Sunstone Wine, Frameworks Caruso Wood Fine Art, Village Frame, Ablitts Fine Cleaners

and the Bridge, Burgess, Henricks, Larsen, McGuire, Michaelis, Papayans, Phillips, Profant, Shaar, Terzian, Toomey, Wathen, Wilkie, and Whites families and many others including over 100 donors to the silent auction

#### NEW!!! Talent Search Project

November 5th Auditions - sign up yourself, child, grandchild, neighbor - everyone wins! A donation of \$100 benefits Santa Barbara City College. All performers win digital copy of performance, many will be aired on local TV, and grand prize is referrals to agents in Los Angeles. http://www.profant.org/talent/

# The John E. Profant Foundation for The Arts

# Awards

# Presentation



Helping Artists on their Voyage

Sunday, September 18, 2005 Santa Barbara County Court House Mural Room

John E. Profant Foundation For the Arts a non profit organization Our mission is to assist artists of all ages through scholarships, exhibits and performances.

# **Order of Program**

Welcome

Introduction of Salud Carbajal, First District Supervisor, County of Santa Barbara

Thank you to Donors and Committee Members by Christopher Toomey

Presentation of Scholarships

**Reception and Photographs** 

Our thanks to all who make this possible

**Officers and Founders** Lyn Profant, Chedo Chuckovich, Dr. Mary Blackwood Collier Michele, Marie, Musette and Mignonne Profant

**Steering Committee** Barbara Burgess, Larry Crandell, Dave Raber, Christopher Toomey

> **Gala Co-Chairs** Nina Terzian and Carol Marsch

Eliane Alexandre, Barbara Anderson, Barbara Benon, William S. Campbell, Sharon Clenet-Purpero, Mary Collier, Beth Farnsworth, Terry Ferguson, Dana Hansen, Barbara Hill, Pat Hinds, Arlene Larsen, Diana Larson, Beverly Lewis, Kate & Norm Loukes, Laura McCormick, Heyoka Merrifield, Mimi Michaelis, Shannon Muller, Rita Murdoch, Valerie O'Connor, Laurel Phillips, Mitch Robles, Joyce Shaar, Mary Ellen Tiffany, C.J. Ward, Colette Wheeler, Maggie Wordell, James Cook with many others from Santa Barbara Bank & Trust

#### Advisors 2005-6

Renown artist James-Paul Brown, Lyrist/director Dean Pitchford (Fame & Footloose) Archie McLaren of the Central Coast Wine Classic Foundation

# Scholarships

Our scholarships are given to artists of all ages in the categories of: Dance, Theatre, Literature, Music and Visual Art, along with special awards for projects benefiting the community. To maintain objectivity in the selection process, the applications are judged by a committee of seven to ten credentialed professionals located outside the County of Santa Barbara. The decisions are based on basic talent for the art, a desire for a career and financial need. Following are this year's recipients.

### Dance

Zeke Dascomb - the Paul Michael Toomey Award Merritt Howard - the Willard Moore Award Annie Spirka

Theater

Jessica Adcock - the Collette McGuire Award

## Literature

Susan Chiavelli - the Montecito Journal Award Willard Thompson - the Sara Miller McCune Award Cynthia Ward Ellen Frew

### Music - Instrumental

Camille Miller - the Sean McGuire Award Mark Skovorodko - the Adele Wilkie Award Blue Dascomb - the Phillips/Lytel Award Filipp Kozachuk Rei Luu

Music - Vocal

Christina Ikeda - the Christopher Toomey Award Evan Hughes - the Terzian Award

### Visual Art

Eric Kem - The Pauline Award Susannah Kelly - the Papayans Family Award Cathy Gregory - the Rose Award Jodi DeMarcos - the New Beginnings Award

The Larry Crandell Humor Award Entera

continued on next page